Awards and Listings

Short Story and Novel Prizes:

‘Turnstones’, Regional Winner (Canada & Europe) of the 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Shortlisted, Society of Authors’ ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award, 2020

Shortlisted, The Alpine Fellowship, 2020

Longlisted, Bath Short Story Award 2020

Shortlisted, Dalkey Short Story Prize, 2019

This Starling Flock (novel), shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, 2018

‘Emergency’, shortlisted, RA & Pin Drop Short Story Award, 2017

‘Holdfast’, finalist, The Sceptre Loves Short Story Competition, 2017

‘No Thief’, Special Mention, Galley Beggar Short Story Prize, 2016/17

‘The Quicken Tree’, shortlisted for both Aesthetica Creative Writing Award, 2014 and Fish Short Story Prize, 2013

‘Deathwatch Beetle’, shortlisted for This Means War competition, Irish Times, 2014

 Shortlisted for the Over the Edge New Writer of the Year, 2014

‘Neutral Ground’, winner of the Offside Stories Competition, 2014

‘The Telephone Man’, winner of the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition, 2013

‘Light Moves Like Water’, shortlisted for the Bridport Short Story Prize, 2010

‘A Servant’s Eye’, shortlisted for the Asham Award, 2009

‘Ante-Purgatory’, shortlisted for the Willesden Herald Short Story Prize, 2009

Writing Awards:

The Bridge Awards Short Story Mentoring Award, 2019

Jerwood/Arvon Mentoring Scheme 2015/16

Robert Louis Stevenson Fellowship, Creative Scotland, 2013

New Writers Award, Scottish Book Trust, 2011

Winner of the Sceptre Prize, 2011